Reed
You know what really bothers me? How the word "christian" has become synonymous with the term "good person." To an extent this would suggest that if you were a good person, you would be christian and vice versa. Here's my problem: I know plenty of people who are truly wonderful individuals with the biggest hearts I've ever seen, but they're not christians. Why is that a problem for some people? It shouldn't be. Why do people in a certain religion think you have to share their belief to be considered a good person by that group of people? What about the Jews? I LOVE Jews. They're good people, and so are hindus, muslims, buddhists, etc. I've grown up in a community where pretty much 100% of the population is christian. Through this, I've witnessed several individuals claiming to be devout christians do terrible things. Also, a large part of the community thinks that everyone needs to go to church. Why? It's like anything good or selfless that somebody does is automatically cancelled out by the fact that they don't go to church. I don't get it, and quite frankly, it kind of pisses me off. Please keep in mind: I have no problem with religion. I think it's a very deep, wonderful, and personal thing.
Thursday, February 11, 2010
Forgive me Father, for I have sinned.
Labels:
buddhists,
Christian,
church,
good person,
hindus,
Jesus Christ,
jews,
muslims,
Religion,
sin
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)




No comments:
Post a Comment